//
you're reading...
Aha! moments, Nuggets of Wisdom, Writing

Talk To Your Future

My mother used to say, “Oh, I’m just talking to myself. Not to worry unless I start to get answers!” Then she would giggle as if it was our inside joke. That was then.

I regularly talk to myself—typically not aloud. Those voices in my head, the one’s I’ve named the committee, often like to argue with me about each and every decision I make. Outwardly, I’m sure I look indecisive but I truly am working it out on the inside.

Here’s a thought…what if you could talk to yourself and explain what you were trying to do and your future self could look back and understand why you made the wacky decisions that always clear up with hindsight?

A friend introduced me to a cool web tool for talking–you guessed it– to your future self. It’s FutureMe.org. From what I gather, it’s developed and run by two guys—who have day jobs and run this out of the goodness of their hearts. (They do accept on donations.) According to the site:

FutureMe.org is based on the principle that memories are less accurate than e-mails. And we strive for accuracy.

See, usually, it’s the future that will reflect back on the present. We here at FutureMe think it’s fun to flip that all around.

So send your future self some words of inspiration. Or maybe give ‘em swift kick in the pants. Or just share some thoughts on where you’ll or what you’ll be up to in a year, three years…more? And then we’ll do some time travel magic and deliver the letter to you. FutureYou, that is.

Getting a surprise from the past is actually kind of an amazing thing – just check out all the people on Twitter and Facebook that agree.

 So I added a note specifically for my inner committee–they really need to see the bigger picture:

 Dear FutureMe,

 How I would love to chat with you in real time, but this is the best time shifter I found. You have ideas and ideals. You have bags and baggage. You’ve lived a good life but have always wanted something a bit more. Good on ya!

But let’s be real. You’re inner life is richer because of the inner dialogues. However, you’ve let the haters and the naysayers, the logicians and the minutes-keepers have a stronger voice then the dreamers and the doers. Therefore, you’ve talked yourself out of doing so much! Let it go girl.

Pick a project and move on it. Use your own philosophy: one step at a time!  You can do it! I trust you will find this a good kick in the pants.

Take that leap!

Your inner committee really wants you to succeed. You just need to give them the direction.

Go do it!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Great Shopping Great Prices

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 351 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 351 other followers

